Stubborn Soul

What is it to fall? What is it to get up? 

New Years resolutions, what’s does this mean to you? Does it mean to set a new goal or goals to accomplish this year? What happens when you have achieved it, say if you have the first three months?

I use to be a New Years resolutioner. I use to. For the past few years I noticed that no matter how many goals I might set myself I will not always accomplish them when I want to. This is the ugly truth of life. A New Years resolution is, for me, too high of an expectation that might just set a person up for disappointment if not achieved. 

Life is, or should be, a steady ladder upwards. You learn at a steady pace. This does not mean we do not make mistakes. Those are unavoidable, still, what is life without them? Getting back up and pushing forward is what it’s all about. 

Last year I have probably learned the most because of all the heavy falls. Some lessons are still in progress and spilling into this year, some have been sealed away. So, what is this year about? 

Keep pushing forward is my goal, not only this year but every year. Climbing that ladder and not by stepping over people but lending them a hand should be our every goal. There is a good chance that when you fall, someone will be there for you as you have, and if not… What then? Will you be that “stubborn soul” to get up and set toward the mark or will you slide down? 

 The biggest goals you accomplish are not the ones you set yourself infront of the whole world, they are the ones you accomplish when no one is watching. 

Walk, run, fly, crawl, fall, get back up, wherever you do push forward. Push forward not worrying if the world notices you or not, but do it for you. This is life. 

Live and learn, fall but always rise. 

  
(Washington D.C., 2015) 

Picture by my good friend Junior Baiense. 

Follow him on Instagram

Leave a comment